Support Person of the Year Awards

The Betty Campion Distinguished Support Service Award was established in 1990 to recognize the many contributions support persons make to the learning community in Oakland County. The award is named in honor of former Oakland Schools Board member Betty Campion. Mrs. Campion served on the Oakland Schools Board of Education from 1978 to 1992. Prior to serving on the Oakland Schools Board, Mrs. Campion served 10 years on the Board of Education for the Walled Lake Consolidated School District and 21 years as a PTA member.

Nominees of the Betty Campion Award are members of a local school district’s support staff (transportation, maintenance, custodial, clerical, food service, or classroom support and paraeducators) who go above and beyond the call of duty in creating a supportive learning environment. They are active not only in their schools, but in the community as well. Nominees must have at least five years of service in his/her current position. There is a limit of one nomination per district.

In 2016 the award was renamed the Support Person of the Year Award and two nominees are selected.

In 2017, the OSEF board voted to award the Support Person of the Year to four individuals, one per each quadrant of Oakland County.

Congratulations to our 2019 Winners!

  • Kristin Squires, Oxford Middle School, Oxford Community Schools
  • JoEllen Steinhebel, Orchard Hills Elementary School, Novi Community School District
  • Morline Wilson, John Page Middle School, Lamphere Public Schools

Nominate Your Outstanding Colleague

Do you work with someone who goes above and beyond to help students reach their goals? If so, you can nominate them for the Support Person of the Year Award.

Download the form below and return it to:

Oakland County Support Person of the Year Award
c/o Andrea Berry
Executive Director
Oakland Schools Education Foundation
2111 Pontiac Lake Rd.
Waterford, MI 48328-2736

Program Overview
Nomination Checklist
Nomination Form

Nominations for the 2019 Support Person of the Year Awards are now open!